Our network

Central Georgians to Vote on T-SPLOST | News

Title (Max 100 Characters)

Central Georgians to Vote on T-SPLOST


People across Georgia will vote on whether to approve T-SPLOSTs in 12 local districts.

That's a regional transportation penny-sales tax that would fund transportation projects in those 12 districts.

The T-SPLOST won't take effect in a local district unless a majority of voters in the district approve.

If approved by a district's voters, money generated by the tax would be spent on projects in that region. Regions that do not pass the referendum get nothing.

If passed in all 12 regions, backers estimate the tax would generate more than $18 billion to pay for projects over the next decade.

Proponents argue that the T-SPLOSTs will create jobs by funding road, bridge and other transportation projects.

Opponents say it's just another tax and have concerns about where and how the money will be spent.

People in Central Georgia will vote in four different T-SPLOST districts:

Middle Georgia Region:
Bibb, Houston, Jones, Monroe, Crawford, Peach, Pulaski, Twiggs, Wilkinson, Baldwin and Putnam counties

Heart of Georgia-Altamaha Region
includes Laurens, Johnson, Treutlen, Wheeler, Telfair, Dodge, Bleckley and Wilcox counties

River Valley Region:
includes Taylor, Macon and Dooly counties

Central Savannah River Region
includes Hancock and Washington counties

Check back with 13WMAZ.com for updates on this story tonight. Election results will be posted starting after 7 p.m.




Bleckley-Dodge-Pulaski Businesses