Our network

T-SPLOST Starts in 13 Central Ga. Counties | News

Title (Max 100 Characters)

T-SPLOST Starts in 13 Central Ga. Counties

2013 brings a sales tax hike for 13 Central Georgia counties.

They are all part of the three districts that approved the new Transportation-SPLOST that starts up Jan. 1.

Those districts will impose a penny sales tax for the next 10 years to fund regional transportation projects. That means people will spend an extra penny for every $1 on most purchases.

People in 12 districts statewide voted on July 31 and most of them voted against the T-SPLOST. Three Georgia districts approved the penny tax, and all three of them include Central Georgia counties.

They are:

Heart of Georgia-Altamaha Region includes Laurens, Johnson, Treutlen, Wheeler, Telfair, Dodge, Bleckley and Wilcox counties

River Valley Region includes Taylor, Macon and Dooly counties

Central Savannah River Region includes Hancock and Washington counties

Supporters said the T-SPLOST would create jobs and help improve the state's roads and bridges. Opponents attacked it as just another tax increase.

Some of the projects the three regional T--SPOSTS are expected to pay for:

Dodge County: Highway 341/Northwest Eastman bypass, Widening Highway 87;

Dooly County: Highway 41, passing lanes and traffic signals;

Hancock County: Gettis Street improvements, Highway 22 West improvement, Highway 15 Sparta bypass;

Laurens County: Hillcrest Parkway improvements, Oconee River Bridge;

Macon County, passing lanes for Highway 224, new state route bridge over Whitewater Creek; widening East Railroad Street;

Washington County, Highway 15 Sandersville bypass, resurfacing Deepstep Road.


Bleckley-Dodge-Pulaski Businesses